The Vancouver Diaries

We're not in Kansas anymore.

EXTRA, EXTRA READ ALL ABOUT IT!

Hello everyone!  Firstly, I apologize for taking so long to post a new blog.  Secondly… well I dont really have a secondly so I guess revert back to “Firstly”.  It has been a crazy couple weeks in Morganworld.  Being jobless has provided me with an ample amount of financial stress.  I would like to point out that the reasonings behind this financial stress were UPS, customs, and duty fees.  For those of you that do not know, duty fees are the taxes paid on importing my crap into Canada.  A bottle of shampoo, a text book, and a few broken dishes cost me somewhere around $776.00.  That bill was super fun to pay!  I’m lying.  Other than a bill that was $600.00 more expensive than it should have been, I was busy printing resumes, job hunting, working on homework, and completing assignments for my property management licensing course I just enrolled in.  I did this all while making sure David was fed and the house stayed clean.  That last part has been sort of lacking this last week.  Oopsies 🙂   On a side note, I did get the dishes and laundry caught up today!  This was a feat that deserved a reward.  A cucumber and brie sandwich with jasmine and flowers organic tea kind of reward.  If you drooled at the sound of that, don’t worry, I did too.  Anyway, it is time to get down to the grit of this post.  What have I been up to?  Well, first off, I locked myself out of the house a couple days after my last blog post.  Instead of majorly freaking out that the only other key was with David in a town 1.5hrs from where I was, I decided to make the most of it.

Study spot, low tide, feeling like the Little Mermaid!

Luckly, I was planning on heading to a nearby park to study so I already had my blanket and books with me.  On my way to the park I noticed it was low tide at the little cove down the street.  The rocks are usually covered by water with only a small portion being exposed.  I found this to be a great opportunity to try something new and decided to plop myself down and hit the books.  Unfortunately I didn’t check the tide schedules and my little adventure didn’t last long.

A few weeks later, I noticed that our laundry bin was starting to overflow.  While waiting on laundry, I walked down the street to a park I hadn’t really paid attention to before.  I saw some people walking up from some hidden stairway and thought, why not?  They lead me to a “beach” that was only assessable during low tide.  It’s kind of hard to explain if you don’t know what I’m talking about, but on the walls that stopped the water from seeping into the ground under the houses was some pretty cool graffiti work.  Again, it could only be seen during low tide because you could only get to it during low tide.

A little portion of it

That weekend David’s band, Its Criminal (yes, they purposely left the ‘ out), played two shows.  It was the first time I had actually got the chance to watch him live.  I must say, he’s pretty good at what he does but then again I could be bias. 😉 I tried to take a picture of them during sound check, but it’s not the greatest.

Sound Check. Mic 2, 1, 2

Told ya it was pretty bad.  The shows were both great!  If you want to catch up with the lastest Its Criminal news check out their blog spot at http://itscrim.wordpress.com/

During the week following the shows, David and I decided to take a few sunset watching trips after he got off work.  The first was at the Spanish Banks down the street.  Beautiful!  We followed a trail that lead us to a little cove where we watched otters play while the sun set over the ocean.

Spanish Banks

If you haven’t noticed, roughly 99.07% of my photos are of Dave.  As much as I love him this is not an obsession sort of thing.  It is a “I hate my forward facing camera/all pictures of me” sort of thing.  Just thought I’d clarify.  As you can tell, it is somewhat breathtaking.  Unfortunately for you this picture does not do justice.  The next day we set out to a place called Whyte Cliff Park in West Vancouver.  When looking at a map, it’s actually located North West of Vancouver across the water.  Whyte Cliff Park was amazing!  I suggest everyone google search it.  Now!  It’s roughly a 40 minute drive depending on what time of day you leave.  The best part about Whyte Cliff is that it’s where seals breed and dolphins come to hang out .  Locals say that if you’re lucky you can catch a blue whale from time-to-time!  I tried to get a picture of a little seal that kept swimming by, but always got distracted.

I spy with my little eye… a SEAL!

I was too busy enjoying it all that I kind of forgot about my camera!  Better luck next time 🙂

Sunset at Whyte Cliff

Collage made using pixlr.com

That’s all for now, folks!  I pinky promise I’ll start posting more regularly! *holds out pinky, kisses fist*

Morgan x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 28, 2012 by in Life In BC and tagged , , , , , , .
