The Vancouver Diaries

We're not in Kansas anymore.

Life Lately

Wow.  The term “slacking” doesn’t quite do my procrastination level on this blog justice.  How can I not get sidetracked from time to time when I have views like the one below surrounding me?!

Kits Beach

Kits Beach

If you’re here reading this post, you’re probably wondering “Geesh, I wonder what Morgan Bailey is up to!” (Thought bubble…me…doing cool things).

Exactly one year ago today I was downing green beer in my “Fake It Till You Make It” shirt with hundreds of thousands of other Fake Paddys Day goers. (Shout Out to Manhattan, KS!)

Fake It Till You Make It

Fake It Till You Make It

This year, I’m in one of the prettiest city’s I’ve been lucky enough to live in!  Crazy how things change in 1 year!

March was always my favorite month.  There is something fun happening every single weekend in March!  First is the St. Louis basketball tournament, which I’m overthrilled and a tad bit jealous that the WSU Dance Team actually gets to attend this year. (Miss you girls!)  Go Shox!  Then comes the annual Fake Pattys Day in Manhattan Ks.  It is one of the top 10 college party events in the Nation according to some study I read about on the internet.  You can decide if you believe or not, but if you’ve ever been to a Fake Pattys Day, you wouldn’t doubt it!  THEN comes the actually St. Patricks Day and/or Spring Break.  I actually met Dave on St. Patricks Day last year!  Finally, the best part of March, my birthday!

But you are not here to read about my love for March so I guess I’ll try to fit 4.5 months of blogging into one post.

I believe I took the video below sometime towards the end of November.  Living in Vancouver, you could stroll down any given street during any given day and see someone or some band playing on the corner.  This particular  day we found these guys!  They call themselves the Sons Of Granville.  Check it out!

If you like what you heard, you can search for them on youtube.  I believe they have quite a bit of their music and street shows up.

During December, Dave and I decided to head downtown to walk around only to find that there was a gihugemous (a ginormous and huge combination I just made up) Christmas parade blocking off every major road downtown.  I believe there were some 300,000 people in attendance.

Vancouver Christmas Parade 2012

Vancouver Christmas Parade 2012

The parade got us in the Christmas spirit so we decided to walk down to Vancouvers famous Christmas Market.  This place was adorable!  Dave said it looks a lot like some little towns in Germany.  There were little shops and bratwurst stands decked out in Christmasness throughout the whole market.

Christmas Market

Christmas Market

I thought this little nugget was adorable! 🙂  Apparently adorable is my word of the day.

For a late Christmas present/ partial bday present for Dave, we went to Cirque Du Soleil!!  Thanks to Daves amazing networks, he got us VIP passes.  VIP = free drinks and amazing food. I wasn’t really concerned with anything else!

VIP Area of Cirque Du Soleil

VIP Area of Cirque Du Soleil

The show was amazing!  If you have yet to see a Cirque Du Soleil Show, you must find the nearest one and GO!!  Not so surprisingly, it did make me really miss my dance/ cheer days.

Sometime in January or maybe February, I can’t remember, Dave and I had just finished dinner at Sophie’s Cosmic Cafe in Kits when I decided I was craving some really good rare tea.  I had walked past o5tea before and always wanted to go in.  Luckily Sophies is catty-corner from o5tea!

Amazing Hibiscus Cranberry Green Tea

Amazing Hibiscus Cranberry Green Tea

I was in tea heaven.  Holy yum, people!  I wish I could remember the exact names of the teas I tried, but I can’t for the life of me.  The first tea had caramelized ginger with hints of rhubarb and a candied hibiscus flower.  I downed that one in 10 second flat! 🙂 The second tea was darker, earthier, and had notes of cocoa.  It was fabulous.  With a full belly of Sophies and tea, we called it a night.

A few weeks later we hopped in the car and drove to stanley park.  It was a dimal day, like most that we’ve had since late October.  I’ve come to realize that the sunny days are few and far between.  If you want to keep your sanity, you have to force yourself to get out and go regardless of the rain/ overcast.  I tried to take a few decent pictures, but this is all I got.

Lions Gate Bridge

Lions Gate Bridge From Prospect Point Stanley Park

View from Stanley Park

View Of North Vancouver From Stanley Park

Dave In The Hollow Tree

Dave In The Hollow Tree at Stanley Park

Hollow Tree Stanley Park

Hollow Tree Stanley Park

There is a nearly 1,000 year old hollowed out red cedar tree.  If you google search “hollow tree stanley park” check out the images.  Every tourist needs a photo with the hollow tree!

Being that time of year again, lent, I gave up meat and dairy…again.  I don’t know why I did this again.  It was so difficult last year.  However, for me, it’s suppose to be.  When it gets hard, you turn to God.  Some people start devotionals or do things that require less sacrifice and that’s okay.  The point of lent, in my opinion, is to do whatever you need to to rearrange your priorities and bring yourself closer to God.  I may be wrong, but I believe I’m on the right track.

One downside to my decision, breakfast.  I’m pretty limited.  Fortunately we live close to the Naam.  The Naam was Gods gift to vegetarians and vegans alike.

Na aM Vegan Breakfast

Na aM Vegan Breakfast

I’m not 100% sold on tofu yet so I gave my scrabbled tofu eggs to Dave (who by the way is a full fledge meat loving southerner).  The veggie sausages and banana pancakes were pretty amazing though.  The Naam really knows what they’re doing when it comes to breakfast!

Fast forward to today. It was sunny and my internal clock woke me up at 8am so I had to do something productive!  The plan was to drive to the north shore and take pictures from Lighthouse Park in West Van.  Unfortunately we had to meet the internet guy at our house in 2 hours so we opted for the 5th best things.  On our way to Granville Island, we stopped by a park and took some photos.  The following photos are me attempting to be artsy so please excuse my mediocrity.

Random Park In Kits

Random Park In Kits

Flowers

Flowers

IMG_0617

Granville Island Entrance

Granville Island Entrance

The last photo is one I took of a children’s park towards the entrance of Granville Island.  Little nuggets are so cute!

More to come sooner than later (hopefully).

xoxo,

Morgan

Leave a Reply

